Three Finalists of First Musical Commissioning Hub Call Out Announced

Capital Theatres and Pitlochry Festival Theatre are able to announce the three finalists of their first Musical Commissioning Hub call out. The judging panel, that comprised  Barbara Dickson, Kenny Wax, Aisha Khan, Ricky Ross, David Greig, Elizabeth Newman, Fiona Gibson, Katie Brayben, Matthew Xia, Robert Softley Gayle and Howard Goodall, were impressed  by the variety of submissions and the quality of the final three. 

The three new Scottish musicals selected are The Light Travels(Working Title) from Niloo-Far Khan that is a time-travelling tale from present-day Edinburgh to a suffragette rally on Princes Street and back again; Shonagh Murray brings  Nessie, the story of a brave young girl and a notorious mythical underwater creature and Tommy Antonio tells the story of Anne Mackintosh, the forgotten hero behind the Jacobite rising of 1745 in Rebel.

All three finalists have been awarded seed commissions and are now being supported in the development phase of their projects with scratch performances for an invited audience scheduled in the Capital Theatres Studio in September 2021 and at Pitlochry Festival Theatre in early 2022.

The Musical Commissioning Hub has been made possible through investment from Creative Scotland’s Performing Arts Venues Relief Fund, the Viewforth Trust and support from Capital Theatres’ donors.

Full details are available at the websites of Capital Theatres and Pitlochry Theatre.

Irene Brown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: